It seems just yesterday, when I was sitting in front of the computer, shedding tears, bidding my friend, IPKKND, goodbye. And now, here I am, celebrating, one year since this on screen couple, got married on screen. It seems so hard to imagine that one year has already passed since that wedding, where I screamed and jumped with joy with my friends, glad that this fictitious couple had finally got married. And in the next two months, it’ll be one year since IPKKND got over. The whole year seems to have passed within a blink of the eye. It is not like haven’t done anything all year, I have done lots, yet it seems to be so fast. In fact, now that I think about it, it seems like just a few days ago I entered ninth and here I am now, writing my half yearly exams. This makes me think, in all the rush of life, we forget to do little things that make someone smile. We forget to tell a person we love, just how important they are, we forget to wish a friend Happy Birthday, we forget to give a shoulder to cry to that person who needs consolation. Why? Because we are too busy with ourselves. We always think, it’s her birthday, I’ll wish her later. She was upset today, maybe I should check on her, but I’ll do it later. Maybe I should tell my mom how important she is to me, but she already knows that, so I’ll tell her some other time.
Unfortunately, the ‘later’ and ‘some other time’ never come and as we watch time pass, before long we know that the day’s over and we never wished happy birthday though she was waiting for your call, we never told our mom that she makes the best food in the world even though she made it specially for us with love, and we never called to know why our friend was upset even though she desperately needed you. We are just so full of ourselves and our lives and our needs that we forget that even others exist in the world who do things for us and deserve to be thanked. If water falls in the class, we call an uncle to clean it, but we never bother to tell him thank you. When you need something, your dad is the first person who you turn to but we never tell him thank you. Wake up people! The world has more to it than just us. Thank the people who deserve to be thanked, hug the people who need it. Thank you, sorry, a hug or a smile take a few seconds to do, it won’t take away our time. You probably feel that a small hug, won’t make a difference, but we don’t know just how much of a difference it does make. So go and hug the person nearest to you and tell him just how important he is. Go call a friend who was looking upset today, just to find out if she is fine. Go thank a person who has done you a favour just to let then know how helpful they have been. Give the people what they deserve. Make the later today. Make the later now. Make the later this moment.

Hugs

Leave a Reply

