I love teaching. Maybe I do because it kind of runs in my blood, after all, my mom, dad, aunt and Grandfather, they all teach.
Since I am known for being a good teacher in the class, I am always approached by my classmates for help, which I gladly do.

So, two years ago, one of my classmate, who used to face a lot of trouble in Math, came to me for help. I looked at the question he was stuck in and showed him how to do a sum like that with another example. He thanked me and went. I was not sure he had really understood or not since he was very playful by nature, still I let him go. The next day, as my Math sir was discussing the sums, he came and stopped at the sum in which I had helped my friend the previous day. Looking around the class, he asked which of the students would like to solve the sum on the board, to everyone’s surprise, Abdul (The boy whom I helped), raised his hand. The teacher called him to the front of the class and handed him the chalk. Being his first time, that he was solving a sum on the board with the whole class looking, he was extremely nervous. He turned and started writing on the board, his hands shivering so much that not even his 1 came straight. Slowly and carefully he did out the sum on the board and it came out right! He was praised by teacher and he felt proud.
As I sat in my place, watching him being praised, tears came to my eyes. He was the boy with the most playful nature in class, and hardly had any interest in studies and yet, he had gone to the board and done out the sum. I felt like a proud teacher whose student had passed the test. On the way back to his place, he came to me and asked me, “Did I do it okay?”
I just looked at his uncertain expression for a second and then smiled saying, “You did perfect.”
My answer made his face brighten up with a smile. He then thanked me profusely and went back to his place, happy with his achievement, and I watched, with proud tears in my eyes, as my student went back to his place happily after passing his test with flying colors.

Moved to Tears

Leave a Reply

