When I was in third or fourth grade, and read about lives of nomadic people, I used to always wonder how hard it must be to live a life like that. Never sure of where to go, what to do, just going in groups, where destiny takes you. It used to seem to me that living the life of a nomad would mean walking aimlessly and landing up in a place you don’t know but just getting used to it because it fulfills your requirements, at least temporarily. I used always thank my lucky stars that I don’t have a life like that. I used to always thank God that he gave me a strong roof over my head with no fear of losing it and just walking aimlessly to where my feet and heart lead me to. However, as I grew up I realized that at some points in life I wish I was a nomad. Not exactly a nomad but just walking here and there, where destiny wants to take me. Often in life I want to get away from all the stress, the pressure, the screaming, the shouting and the nagging and just go and walk without any aim.

By character, I am a very emotional person and get attached to things very easily. Throwing, giving away or having to leave behind something that I am attached to is one of the hardest things for me to do. Maybe that is why sometimes I feel like living the life of a nomad. In that case before I can get attached to a place I am off from there.
I have been living in Oman for the last 10 years and often my dad says that he would like to leave and that really hurts me very hard. The thought of leaving the place I call home and a place where I started my schooling, made my first friends and a place where all my memories rest is very hard.

At times when I am upset, i just go out and walk, walk anywhere my heart leads me. I escape all the tension in the atmosphere and go away. Sometimes I feel like running away, far from all this tension and just move about from place to place. Nevertheless, I know that all this is easier said than done. I know very well that I am lucky to be able to have a home that is steady. I am lucky to live such an easy and happy life compared to many people in the world so for now, it is better to stay at home than become a nomad.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/07/07/daily-prompt-travel/

4 thoughts on “Aimless Journeys

Leave a Reply

